Ten Underrated Vocaloid Songs

If there are overrated songs, there must be underrated songs. And this post is about ten songs that I feel are underrated by the Vocaloid community. Generally, these songs will be those that do not have many listens on both NND and YouTube, but there might be a few that have gained notice in the Japanese fandom (NND) but not the Western fandom.

Some of these songs will be by popular Vocaloids (because there are too many songs for them to not have underrated songs), but there will also be not as well-known Vocaloids on this list.

As always, there will be a link to the song, if there is one, and it is completely based on my opinion, this time.

Edit as of 07/29/2019: I realize there is a repeated song from another list, but I will leave it here because I still agree with my choice.

10. Sweet Shackles (feat. GUMI) by maya

I would say that this song is well-known, compared to some of the other songs on this list, but I feel this song is underrated compared to some of GUMI’s more well-known song. It’s a song about a maid who loves her master, and then she shackles him. It’s such a nice and haunting song, which is fitting for the theme. Unfortunately, it has been passed by for some other songs by GUMI. (Also, I think “Rotten Girl, Grotesque Romance” has been accepted as the yandere Vocaloid song.)

YouTube

9. Tokio Funka (feat. GUMI) by takamatt

This song is underrated compared to the other solo GUMI song known by takamatt, which is “Just a Game”. I feel this song has better tuning of GUMI (I find “Just a Game” near intolerable to listen to), and I just feel it’s more of a headbanger compared to his other song. It’s a fun song to hum along with.

8. Sayonara no Kawari Ni (feat. GUMI) by Leftymonster-P

This song has a special place in my heart. It’s a song that’s personal to me, and I think it is relatable for others who grew up with a pet. This is a song about accepting that your childhood pet has died (that pet you grew up with) and moving on from that experience. This song definitely deserves more attention, especially considering the topic of this song.

7. Nekomimi Archive (feat. Hatsune Miku) by Kusoinaka-P

This song has many covers, I’ll admit, but I feel that the covers might have gotten more attention than the original did. While there are certain songs that don’t deserve as much attention as the (better) covers, this song is not one of them. Miku’s voice is fairly nice, compared to some other songs, and I really don’t understand how this song doesn’t have much attention, especially considering how many people complain about Miku being pitched too high.

6. Zola Miku ★ Eccentric Future Night (feat. Hatsune Miku, ZOLA Project) by samfree

I can’t believe I’m adding the “Night Series” to a list about underrated songs. But this song has a Vocaloid that had been popular-ish at release, and then died away to nothing. ZOLA Project has three male vocals (Wil, Kyo, and Yuu), and most times for the more popular ZOLA Project songs, from what I’ve observed, these vocals are used individually instead of keeping them in a group. But this song has all three singing within the song, and it barely has any views. I remember no one really translated this song, and I had tried my hand at it (no, it’s not published online.)

5. Anemone (feat. Hatsune Miku) by Akatin

Miku’s voice in this song is not grating. That is the first thing I noticed upon listening to this song. It’s such a nice song to just listen to without really paying attention to the lyrics. It’s soothing, and I believe it’s about moving around. (I have tried to translate this, and I’ve seen a translation, but I’m still not certain what the lyrics mean.)

YouTube

4. Night Walker (feat. Kagamine Len) by Hayakawa-P

I know this is another popular Vocaloid, but this song isn’t well-known. I feel that it might be more well-received in the Western fandom, but it still isn’t that well-known. The subbed version has almost 200,000 views, and I am certain there have been repeat views by people. Compared to other songs by Len, this is one of the lesser-known. This song is about Len coming back (as a zombie-like creature), and he goes back to the woman who sent him to the grave. As the song goes on, he remembers more and more of what happened.

3. Ophelia and Rusalka (feat. Prima) by song

Ophelia is a character from Shakespeare’s Hamlet as the love interest of the titular character. Rusalka is a spirit in Slavic mythology. This is probably one of the few Prima songs I’ve found I liked, and it definitely has a nice sound to it. However, the worst part about this song (excluding the near unintelligible English) is that it is a long song.

YouTube

2. jewelfish (feat. Hiyama Kiyoteru) by Re:nG

I admit that this is one of Kiyoteru’s more popular songs, but the main point here is that Kiyoteru is definitely an underrated Vocaloid. The translation of this song has 96,000+ views, which is closer to what a popular Vocaloid would get for a not-known song for a song translation video. This song gets appreciation from Kiyoteru’s fanbase, but that is small.

1. Sleeping Beauty (feat. Prima) by ProjectOverdoze

On YouTube, there is less than 12,000 views on the video. This team has created a song with understandable English, an interesting set of lyrics, and interesting music to back it. For me, Prima is already underrated as a Vocaloid, and to see this song lacking views only makes it more disenheartening. This is a song you should definitely check out.

YouTube

Published by Abyss

Just a fan of different types of music.

One thought on “Ten Underrated Vocaloid Songs

Leave a comment